Effecting of turbulence intensity on load of WT blade

Hi everyone,

I’m a PhD student. My research is effect of turbulence intensity on load of WT blade,
I also ran FAST code but I have some problems:

• GenPwr value is minus
  • Can I choose some factors to load analysis of blade?
    (such as RootMEdg1,RootMFlp1; RootMEdg2,RootMFlp2 and RootMEdg3,RootMFlp3).
    Please detail explain to me.

Thank you very much.
Sang.Le

Dear Sang.Le,

A negative value for GenPwr in FAST implies a motoring situation where the generator is causing the rotor to spin. Is motoring expected in your simulation?

I’m not sure I understand your second question. Are you asking what blade output channels are normally analyzed in a loads analysis or something else?

Best regards,

Dear Jason.Jonkman,

Thanks for your reply,

I’m calculating for WT 100kW and I want to know electricity produce from WT.
Therefore, is my result of WT a motor?

The second question is “If I choose blade output for loads analysis of blade, is it ok or not?”
and I want to deeply understand about loads analysis of blade, what should I focus on?
I’m also studying XFLR5 and somethings.

Thank you very much for your help.

Dear Sang.Le,

A motoring situation implies e.g. a generator-induced start-up event. Is this the simulation you are trying to run? The generator power should be positive during normal operation.