PTDM implementation

Dear Dr Jonkman:

My name is Emanuel M. Rergis, and I am a PhD student at the University of Nottingham in the UK. An important part of my PhD project is about the implementation of a PTMD (Pendulum Tuned Mass Damper) with an electrorheological damper inside the nacelle of an offshore wind turbine. For this purpose, I have given myself the task of running several simulations on MAtLab. However, I see that it would be very useful to be able to implement these models that I have already run with all the features and benefits that OpenFAST provides. I am not very familiar with all the functions of the software yet, however, I have read that there are modules called ServoDyn and SubDyn. These modules already have the functions of TMD or LCD predetermined. My question is, faced with all this, what do you recommend I do? How can I start? I am willing to share my results, if during all this process I manage to find relevant information, because it seems that OpenFAST does not have the PMTD function included. Thank you very much and kind regards.
Emanuel M. Rergis

Dear @Emanuel.Rergis,

I would first recommend reviewing the available functionality and theory behind the Structural Control (StC) submodel of ServoDyn to see if these models adequately represent the physics of the PTMD you are trying to model (at least to first-order accuracy)–see the StC documentation here: 4.2.12. Structural Control (SrvD) — OpenFAST v3.4.1 documentation. It would be great to summarize what additional physics needs to be captured for higher accuracy. With that, you can then decide what method is best to address the physics gaps, such as modifying the StC source code or interfacing to a controller or MATLAB/Simulink.

Best regards,

Thank you very much! I’ll take your pieces of advice into consideration. Kind regards!

Dear Dr Jonkman: