Underwater dynamics

I want to study the behaviour of a floating wind turbine with mechanical dampers attached under seawater level and am looking for methods of how this could be done. I am new to FAST and a lot of this is difficult to understand:

• Is there any way of modelling a flexible floating platform in FAST? Is the reason for making the platform rigid because the flexible modes are only related to the tower and not the platform and tower as a whole?
  • When looking at pictures in the documentation for FAST v8 it seems impossible to use the SubDyn module, as it is only available for fixed bottom structure. Is this also true for OpenFAST?
  • I see that the ExtPtfm module is available in OpenFAST. Are there any documentation or (better) examples available at the present moment for how to use this module? Are the matrices found from the Craig-Bampton method?

Best regards,
Even Lund

Dear Even,

Here are my answers to your questions:

1. Currently FAST/OpenFAST are limited to modeling floating platforms as a 6-degree of freedom rigid body. The flexible tower is cantilevered atop the rigid floater. We are actively trying to obtain funding for adding floating-platform flexibility and the associated member-level loads to OpenFAST.
  2. Yes, SubDyn is currently limited for use in fixed-bottom offshore or land-based wind turbines.
  3. We don’t really have documentation around the user module ExctPtfm. We were hoping that the user-defined module is quite straightforward. Basically, the ExctPtfm provides a simple way to specify 6x6 mass, damping, and stiffness matrices, as a well as a 6x1 load vector to create loads applied to the platform from the foundation e.g. from a Guyan reduction. Of course, the routine is user-specified and so the user can also implement nonlinear loads or include additional internal states (e.g. for a Craig-Bampton reduction).

Best regards,

Dear Jason,

Thank you for the answers!