Comparing FAST and FLORIS

Greetings,

I’m a student working on wind farm layout and yaw optimization. In short, my work flow consists of generating solutions on FLORIS and then validating them using FAST. So far, I’ve been able to set up both FLORIS and FAST, but one of my problems is bridging the gap between FLORIS and FAST so that the results can be compared.

For example, some questions:

1. For the FAST for power output do I use ‘GenPower’ or ‘RtAeroPwr’?
  2. How do I go about the inflow? Steady flow ( 0% TI ) in FAST, results in unrealistically long wakes in FLORIS. Can I set for both softwares the same TI?

Would you be able to provide me with some recommendations, please?

Best regards,

Dear @Jorge.Rodrigues,

Regarding (1), AeroDyn output RtAeroPwr is the aerodynamic power and ServoDyn output GenPwr is the electrical power (including mechanical/electrical losses). I would think you’d want to use the latter in FLORIS. That said, my understanding is that power is really only used for reference in FLORIS rather than in any specific calculation.

Regarding (2), I’m not fully sure I understand what you are asking. Are you using OpenFAST to derive the table look-up of aerodynamic performance curves (e.g., thrust as a function of tip-speed ratio and pitch angle) to use within FLORIS? My understanding of FLORIS is that TI is more of a tuning parameter rather than a physical value whereas in OpenFAST, the wind inflow TI is physical characteristic of the inflow. Regardless, often aerodynamic performance curves are calculated in the absence of inflow turbulence.

Best regards,

Dear @Jason.Jonkman

Thank you for answering.

Regarding (2), I should be more precise. For both softwares I’m using the NREL 5MW wind turbine. What I’m looking for is a numerical setup that allows me to compare the power output from FLORIS and FAST. And one of my main concerns is regarding the inflow. Since I have SCADA data, I would like to match the inflow conditions on both softwares.