Question about NREL Phase VI Power Data

Hello all!

I’m studying the aerodynamic blade tower interaction (BTI) of the upwind config. of the Phase VI HAWT. However I have a question about the experimental data and I’m hoping someone can help. Attached is a picture of the aero power developed by the rotor in Seq. S, 5 m/s. The rotor is rotating at ~72 RPM, which gives a rotational period of 0.8 sec.

In the attached picture, from the NREL experimental data, notice the well defined power loss at the the rotor period (0.8 s, 1.6 s, 2.4 s) as one of the blades passes in front of the tower. However, as there are two blades, shouldn’t there be power loss at the 1/2 period as well (here 0.4 s, 1.2 s, 2.0 s, etc)? As this data is based on a strain gage on the LS shaft it seems like the power drop of the second blade should be there. Can anyone clarify this for me?

Thanks!
Sean Quallen
Untitled.png

Sean,

I agree that there should probably be a 2P impact on rotor power, but there is not much we can do without knowing exactly what file and channel you are looking at. I am also curious where you got the data, as it is not publicly available and we distribute subsets only on request.

Marshall

Marshall,

I’m looking at channel 822,“ROTPOW”,"Aerodynamic power from rotor " from the file S1000000.ENG from sequence S.

I should note that I do not have all of the data. I’m currently assembling a test matrix and have contacted Dr. Scott Schreck to acquire the data I’m requesting. This is a reproduced plot from one of my project colleagues who acquired the data through proper channels and published it in:

Li, Y.W., Paik, K.J., Xing, T., Carrica, P.M., 2012, 
 "Dynamic Overset CFD Simulations of Wind Turbine Aerodynamics," 
 Renewable Energy, Vol. 37, Issue 1, pp. 285-298

Thanks!
Sean Q

Sorry to bump my post, but has anyone had a chance to look at this? After acquiring more of the sequence S data I find that this absence of the 2P exists in all of the 5, 10, and 15 m/s sequences.