Installing FAST 8 in Linux

Hello everybody,
I hope everyone is doing well.
I am pretty new to FAST and I am trying to installing it on Ubuntu. I am having some problems. I have read the pdf called:“compiling FAST v8.15.00a-bjj” and I was following the steps that wore mentioned. I downloaded the FAST and the map ++ package from the FAST website. i have opened the map ++ folder and searched for the makefile in the src folder as instructed exactly. The problem was that in the terminal when I was trying to run the makefile by entering the command “make” in the terminal, i keep getting this error DOwnloads/map++/src$ make fatal: bad revision 'HEAD' gcc -m64 -g -shared -llapacke -o libmap-1.20.10.so lmder.o dpmpar.o lmpar.o qrsolv.o enorm.o enorm_u.o qrfac.o simplest.o bstrlib.o bstraux.o freedata.o mapinit.o maperror.o lineroutines.o numeric.o outputstream.o mapapi.o lmroutines.o jacobian.o residual.o -lm -llapacke
If you have any guide on how to install FAST in ubunutu , i would be very thankful for your help
i could not identify the exact problem. I have been googling for some time and I was not able to find the problem, so I returned to the experts forums so that i might find some solution for my problem
thank you very much
haggag

Dear Mostafa,

Is there a reason you are using FAST v8.15 rather than the newest version of FAST–OpenFAST v1.0.0? OpenFAST provides better documentation and compiling scripts for Linux than earlier versions of FAST.

Best regards,

Dear Jason,
I want to use the 5 MW NREL turbine. I have no reason why I choose fast 8 expect that my supervisor did not what exactly the difference between fast8 and open fast so he prefered that i stick with fast 8.
do you have any idea how can i fix this error ? I have been trying the whole day to fix it but it is not working.
i hope things get better soon
thank you so much

Dear Mostafa,