FAST.Farm without wind modelling setup

Dear NREL, I am new to FAST.Farm but I am currently trying to run some simulations without wind. However, I am obtaining some errors. The idea is to get the static condition, run some static offsets or perform decay tests, everything without wind, as I can do in OpenFAST. I tried both with 0m/s or even very low wind speed (0.05m/s), but getting the following error:
“Wake model is not valid in the propeller-brake region, i.e., Ct > 2.0”

I also tried to disable AeroDyn and InflowWind modules in the fst file.

So my question is if it is possible to set up these conditions (no wind).

I would greatly appreciate guidance on this.

Kind regards and thank you so much.
Antonio.

Dear @Antonio.Medina,

Actually, FAST.Farm is not really set up well to support simulations without wind. While it is easy in standalone OpenFAST to remove wind altogether, the same is not true for FAST.Farm given that much of the software revolves around coupling the wind turbines of a wind farm together through wind.

Can you clarify your use case? The one use case I could see is if you are trying to model free-decay simulations without wind of floating offshore wind turbines of a wind farm with shared mooring systems. Without coupling of the wind turbines in a wind farm through shared moorings, there is likely no other couplings between wind turbines that FAST.Farm would support without wind, so without wind, you may just as well run independent OpenFAST simulations of each wind turbine. (FAST.Farm also couples wind turbines of a wind farm together through farm-level control, but this is mainly valid with wind as well).

Best regards,

Dear @Jason.Jonkman,
Thank you so much for your kind reply. To be honest the idea is to model an experimental campaign of two turbines tested without wind. In the following steps, we will add the wind and simulate it with FAST.Farm. As you mentioned, in the first order shared mooring is not important.