Beginner's guide to fast?

Hello,

I am writing my master thesis with the subject of developing a new concept of a floating turbine. However, since I am totally new to FAST and wind turbine engineering, I would like to ask if anyone can tell me some basic stuff on getting started with a landbased wind turbine for starters. I have read parts of the manual for FAST, but I think I need some help to get going.

1. I would like to know which files I need in my directory for running fast
  2. How can I change the wind loads?
  3. Where do I change the properties of the tower (mass, moment of inertia, cross sectional area etc.)
  4. Where do the results of the calculations go?

Also, if anyone has a nice example for getting started it would be very helpful.

Thank you in advance.

Jacob K. Pedersen
University of Southern Denmark

Dear Jacob,

Unfortunately, we don’t have step-by-step instructions for starting with FAST. It may be helpful to review the presentations and sample models/simulations that were presented at our last modeling workshop. These are available for FAST v8.08 (not quite the newest version, but I don’t have newer materials that are so comprehensive) in my Sep 15, 2014 post in the forum topic found here: Modeling Workshops. After that, I suggest that you study the various user’s guides and theory manuals.

Here are my answers to your direct questions:

See the “FAST v8 Input and Output Files” section of the FAST v8 ReadMe file: wind.nrel.gov/nwtc/docs/README_FAST8.pdf.

From the InflowWind module. See the InflowWind User’s Guide for more information: wind.nrel.gov/nwtc/docs/InflowWind_Manual.pdf.

The structural properties are specified in ElastoDyn tower input file, but are given in terms of mass per unit length and sectional bending stiffness in the fore-aft and side-to-side directions instead of in terms of geometry and material properties.

See the “FAST v8 Input and Output Files” section of the FAST v8 ReadMe file linked above.

Best regards,