A Query Regarding the Calculation of Rotor Inertia for the 5MW Reference Wind Turbine in FAST v8

Hi All

I am studying the statistical properties of rotor speed for a wind turbine using FAST v8 simulations (as OpenFAST does not run smoothly on my computer, I use FAST v8 for wind turbine modeling). However, I have encountered a perplexing issue: For the 5MW reference wind turbine, how are the rotor inertia, the generator inertia relative to the high-speed shaft, and the drivetrain inertia cast to the low-speed shaft calculated in FAST v8?

1. On pages 20-21 of Ref. 1, the following Equation 1 is provided:

2. In FAST v8, I simulated Test 18 (NREL 5 MW - Land-based wind turbine) with the following modifications:
    The flexibility of the drivetrain is ignored

3. Since the torsional flexibility of the drivetrain is neglected, and assuming the gearbox has no frictional losses (page 14, Ref. 1), the rotor dynamics simulation results in FAST should conform to Equation 1. Therefore, the physical quantities in the Equation 1 correspond to the simulation results in FAST.

T_aero (in Equation 1) = RotTorq (in FAST)
    T_gen = GenTq
    N_gear = 97 [1]
    Omega = RotSpeed•2•pi/60
    t = Time

dOmega/dt is calculated in MATLAB using the following code:

dOmega_dt = gradient(RotSpeed•2•pi/60, Time)

4. From the FAST v8 simulation results, the relationship between RotTorq - N_gear•GenTq and dOmega/dt is depicted in the attached figure.

This suggests that in Equation 1,
    I_rotor + N_gear^2•I_gen = I_drivetrain = 5025•1000 (kg•m2) = 5.025•10^6 (kg•m2)