The question of 6 DOFs of Platform

Dear Jason,

I am a graduate student using FASTv8 and OPENFAST. I am studying 10MW jacket offshore wind turbine. And the jacket and tower are modeled in Subdyn, there is no platform for the jacket. The attachment are the ElastoDyn and SubDyn. I have two questions for you.

1. I find that the opening and closing of the six degrees of freedom of the platform in the Elastondyn module will lead to a large difference in the first-order fundamental frequency. Therefore, what does the platform degree of freedom mean for a model like mine?
  2. Still about the six degrees of freedom of the platform of The Elastondyn module. Since there is no platform in my model, how does the six degrees of freedom of the Elastondyn module affect the calculation of FAST, and what is their internal mechanism? The platform with six degrees of freedom is confusing to me.

Looking forward to your reply.

Best regards
10MW_model.zip (8.57 KB)

Dear Dongzhe.Lu,

The ElastoDyn and SubDyn modules of FAST v8 and OpenFAST are coupled via structure-to-structure coupling where the motions in 6 DOFs (displacements/rotations, velocities, accelerations) are transferred from ElastoDyn to SubDyn and the reaction loads (forces, moments) are transferred from SubDyn to ElastoDyn. The 6-DOF motion is referred to as the platform DOFs in ElastoDyn and the interface joint in SubDyn.

In your case, you’ve located the platform in ElastoDyn and the interface joint in SubDyn at the top of the tower, meaning the full support structure (tower + jacket) are modelled in SubDyn, and the tower geometry is zeroed and the tower DOFs are disabled in ElastoDyn. That looks like the correct approach and all 6 platform DOFs should be enabled in ElastoDyn

More information is provided in the online SubDyn documentation: openfast.readthedocs.io/en/main … e-coupling.

Best regards,

Dear Jason,