PROBLEMS TO VALIDATE LINEARIZATION WITH TORQUE CONTROL

Good morning,

It’s the first time I write in this forum and my english is not good at all, but I’ll try to explain my problem as well as I can.

I’m a student from “Universidad Pública de Navarra” (UPNA) in Pamplona (north of Spain) and I’m currently performing a Final Master Project with FAST.

One of the major points of the project is the validation of FAST simulations and linearizations with constant winds, step winds, step pitch angles and step torque values. The process is as it follows:

1- FAST simulation with a constant wind and “Control defined by User” (Pitch and Torque. Yaw Control disabled).
2- Fixing equilibrium points of “RotSpeed”, “Blade Pitch”, etc. for further linearization.
3- Linearization with “RotSpeed” = Equilibrium Point obtained in the previous point.
4- Open-loop simulation in the Simulink interface of FAST, using unit steps in wind, torque and pitch. This should show agreement with the step responses of the linearized model.
5 - Controller design and validation.

The agreement sought in point 4 is achieved for wind and pitch steps, but not for torque ones. In fact, when I introduce a torque step in the open-loop simulator, the system reacts increasing its generator speed, when a decrease is expected.
The torque step is introduced as shownin the attached second figure. The results are also shown in the first attached figure.

Can you help me? I think the problem is in my open-loop simulator, but I cannot find it.

Thank you so much,
Pedro López.

Dear Pedro,

I agree that stepping up the generator torque should lead to decrease in generator speed. It’s not obvious to me what the problem might be.

What is the difference between “Simulink” and “FAST” in your time-series plot? What are the other conditions of the simulation (e.g. normal operation under steady wind)?

Best regards,

Good morning (in Spain),

First of all, thank you for your kind reply.