Meteorological codes for offshore conditions

Dear all,
I’m a new member of the forum, and I am honored to participate.
I’m an engineer PhD student and currently I am working on offshore wind energy systems ( in particular offshore wind turbine with floating foundation ).

I’d like to ask you same information and I hope to have your opinion on this issues:

• To analyze the wind field of a site (onshore or offshore) which meteorological model have you used?
    In my work I referred to a CALMET (CAlifornian METteorlogical Model) as diagnostic model and I’d want to integrate it with a prognostic model to know the status of offshore weather condition in a specific site.
    For this reasons I have developed a numerical method ( using FORTRAN ) for the study and evaluation of wind potential of a site and its suitability for wind development.

Now I’m studying how to expand the code with the offshore conditions such us including model for the evaluation of currents and waves.

• I also have to evaluate the effect of sea field on floating wind turbine.

Do you have any suggestions for my study?

Thank you very much!

Best regards

elvira

1 Like

Dear Elvira,

This forum is meant for the design codes that we develop and maintain at NREL, which are available from: wind.nrel.gov/designcodes/. These codes are developed for wind turbine design, including the calculation of wind turbine performance, loads, and stability, as well as preprocessors to help build the models, postprocessors to analyze the reults, and utilities to run and manage the processing tasks. We don’t develop meteorological codes.

The aero-hydro-servo-elastic FAST with AeroDyn and HydroDyn code is the code we’ve developed for calculating the “effect of [the] sea field on [a] floating wind turbine.” More information is avaiable from: wind.nrel.gov/designcodes/simulators/fast/.

Best regards,

Dear Jason,

thanks for your answer.