How detailed is the power converter modeled in OpenFAST?

Dear all

I am a PhD student majoring in power electronics. Our laboratory has a lot of research on the design and operation of wind power converters.

We are new to this open source simulator and are still evaluating the feasibility of using OpenFAST for our research. Since our research is mainly focused on the power converter, we wonder how is the “Control and electrical system (servo) model” established?

What is the topology of the power converter, is it DFIG or back-to-back converters. Is the converter topology described in the simulator?

Is the converter modeled with detailed structures, e.g. power switches with pulse-width modulation method.

Or are there any files that we can refer to for more detials about these questions.

Thanks!

Dear Jiuyang.Zhou,

The simple built in generator and variable-speed control models within OpenFAST are quite simple…being able to calculate the generator torque, but not modeling the power conversion in any detail.

However, OpenFAST has been interfaced with, e.g., MATLAB/SImulink, where detailed models, e.g. DFIG, have been implemented. The following paper is likely of interest to you: nrel.gov/docs/fy14osti/59195.pdf.

Best regards,

Hi Jason

Thanks a lot for your kind reply and it’s really helpful, I will check this paper.

Best regards,
Jiuyang Zhou

Dear Jason

I checked the techniqcal reports of NREL 5MW, DTU 10MW and IEA 15MW wind turbine models, it seems that these model all use the ROSCO bladed-style controller for the torque control. I wonder whether it is possible to use Simulink instead to simulate the detailed generator and converter behaviors with these aforementioned turbine models? Will it conflict with the ROSCO controller?