Fixed offshore wind turbines Properties Question

Dear all
I am currently studying the interaction process between ice load and fixed offshore wind turbines, including 5MW_OC3monopile, 5MW_OC3Tripod, 5MW_OC4Jacket three forms of offshore wind turbines. However, I am encountering some problems to find the related parameters I need to run the icedyn. Specifically, the diameter of the part of the offshore turbine in contact with the sea ice. It would be nice to have a detailed image of the specifications.
I’m still in the early stages of learning ice loads, so if anyone has any suggestions, I’d love to hear them!
Any help will be appreciated.
Best regards,
Tianhui.Liu

Dear Tianhui.Liu,

If I understand correctly, you are asking for the geometry of the OC3-monopile, OC3-tripod, and OC4-jacket; is that correct?. These are available as follows:

OC3-monopile: Section 2.1 of NREL/TP-5000-48191: nrel.gov/docs/fy11osti/48191.pdf.
OC3-tripod: drive.google.com/file/d/0B0KGNS … sp=sharing
OC4-jacket: drive.google.com/drive/folders/ … sp=sharing

Best regards,

Dear Jonkman
I would like to analyze the response of several stationary offshore wind turbines above in the frequency domain, what is the natural frequency of NREL stationary offshore wind turbines?I noticed in the Offshore Code Comparison Collaboration (OC3) for IEA Task 23 Offshore Wind Technology and Deployment, the natural frequency of the substructure is mentioned, but I wonder what is the natural frequency of the turbine as a whole?

Thanks a lot

best regards

Dear Tianhui,

Are you asking for the full-system natural frequencies for each of these fixed-bottom offshore wind systems in the parked/idling condition? These are available in the following publications:

OC3-monopile: Figure 6 of NREL/TP-5000-48191: nrel.gov/docs/fy11osti/48191.pdf
OC3-tripod: Figure 26 of NREL/TP-5000-48191: nrel.gov/docs/fy11osti/48191.pdf
OC4-jacket: Figure 4 of our ISOPE 2012 paper: nrel.gov/docs/fy12osti/54124.pdf

Best regards,