Choosing a Turbine Siting Location

Hello, I’m relatively new to this field and have been mostly working in turbulence modeling. I gave a newbie question (hopefully this is the right place for it).

For a turbine (say TurbA) with a given rated wind speed (say 10m/s), how does one decide on suitability of the place where you would want to cite it? I guess, I could figure out a PDF for wind speed at a certain place, and then compute some sort of a weighted average based for expected annual energy output. I’ve heard some people use the term Annual Energy Production (AEP), which is I think is just a weighted average to get an expected power.

But, I am not sure about how one applies this realistically. So, would placing TurbA (with a rated wind speed of 10m/s) at a location with say an average annual wind speed 10m/s be the too conservative? In other words, would are you more likely to put it in a place with average wind speed of 15m/s, so that you would expect a higher capacity factor? What is the typical industry standard for this?

My primary reason for asking about this, is that I am trying to physically quantify the annual loss due to wakes for a sample turbine (WindPact 1.5MW) using a physics based model. But, in order to come up with actual numbers, I would like to model the problem at a certain real location. Was the WindPact 1.5MW turbine designed for a particular location?

thanks,

aditya

Dear Aditya,