Why does the rotor speed oscillate at steady winds?

Hallo all,

I’m quite new to the wind energy technology in general and the simulation of wind turbines in particular.
To extend my knowledge about wind turbines I try to learn FAST. Therefore I currently work through the files and examples from the 2014 NREL Wind Turbine Modeling Workshop in Bergen.

In that context I was able to run the first two simulations and I also got pretty much the same results as provided in Demonstration_Jonkman.pdf (part of Simulations_NoOutput.zip)
However having a closer look on the results of Simulation 2, I was quite wondering about the behaviour of the rotor speed.
As in that simulation the turbine is subjected to a steady wind without shear. I expected a constant rotor speed, but in fact the rotor speed oscillates around the Initial or fixed rotor speed (RotSpeed) defined in the ElastoDyn primary input file.

Reading through the forum I found this topic. There it is mentioned that periodic loads on the rotor could arise from a non-zero shaft tilt, as this tilt leads to asymmetric aerodynamics even in steady winds without shear. Therefore I changed the parameter ShftTilt to 0 and rerun the simulation, but unfortunately the rotor speed still oscillate.

My second idea was that the oscillations may be induced through the motion of the blades. Therefore I disabled the blades DOF (FlapDOF1, FlapDOF2, EdgeDOF), but again that did not lead to a constant rotor speed.

As I now have no further ideas I would like to ask you:
Do you know where these oscillations could come from and why the rotor speed isn’t constant?

Thank you very much in advance.

Kind regards,
Paul Schünemann

Dear Paul,