Verification of teeter dynamics

Dear all,

I am studying the behavior of the teeter degree of freedom as I came across the helicopter flapping equation in Burton’s Wind Energy Handbook. In short, the equation for teeter angle β is

Iyy (d^2𝛽)/(dt^2)+ Ca (d𝛽/dt) + (Ka + Kcf)𝛽 = Mext 

where Iyy=mass moment of inertia around teeter axis, Ca = aerodynamic damping, Ka = aerodynamic stiffness, Kcf = centrifugal stiffness, Mext = Forcing moment (usually due to aerodynamic imbalance).

Now, I know from the docs that FAST implements this feature uses Kane’s equations which considers an inertial frame of reference instead of rotational. Moreover, Ca, Ka are not really constant coefficients, but are determined using AeroDyn in each timestep.

Nevertheless, for moderate to high tip speed ratios and for the condition that there is no stall, one can estimate these coefficients using the table in Schorbach et al. ( DOI: 10.1002/we.1823).

I decided to put this to the test by simulating the UAE phase VI turbine from the r-tests with and without the teeter degree of freedom. Tilt was set to 30 degrees and the rotor spun at TSR = 6, U = 3.77m/s. Due to the tilt conditions I used OLAF. Using the data in report NREL/TP-500-29955 the aerodyanamic damping coefficient and rotor inertia are estimated. Note that Ka equals zero as d3 = 0.

The 2nd Order ODE is implemented in Python where Ca=3100Nm/rad, RPM = 5.2rad/s, Iyy=945kgm^2 Moreover, M_ext is determined by the difference between the AeroDyn Output variables B1AeroMy and B2AeroMy for the rotor that has no teeter degree of freedom. These are plotted below: