Query regarding forces/loads from FAST

Hello,

I am a PhD student working on coupling FAST with our in-house CFD code. The approach is to write the wind velocities from CFD as FF file which FAST uses and outputs the forces. The CFD code requires the forces at each station/node on the blade.
Could you please direct me as to the best way of getting the forces (x, y and z) at each station/node for each blade from FAST?
My understanding is that I have to use the ‘NBlGages’, which limits the number of gages to 9.

Thank you.

Regards,

Anshul

Dear Anshul,

I presume you are trying to develop a coupling between FAST and your CFD code, such that the CFD is used to model the wind inflow and wake (induction) and FAST is used to model the airfoil aerodynamics, structural dynamics, and controller of the turbine.

The full-field (FF) wind input in FAST/AeroDyn is only useful for a one-way coupling, where you can input to FAST/AeroDyn the wind inflow, but not determine the influence of the aerodynamic loads on the wind field. I suspect this is not what you want to do because you say that the “CFD code requires the forces at each station/node on the blade”. This suggests a that you want a two-way coupling, where aerodynamics loads also impact the wind field.

The loads output by FAST at the blade gages (via input parameters NBlGages and BldGagNd) are not the applied aerodynamic loads, but the reaction loads within the blade (the reaction loads include contributions from aerodynamics, gravity, inertia, etc.). I suspect your CFD code only wants the applied aerodynamic loads.

I suspect what you really want is an interface similar to our SOWFA tool, which includes a coupling between FAST and the OpenFOAM CFD package. I suggest you study our SOWFA tool to see how it works: wind.nrel.gov/designcodes/simulators/sowfa/.

Best regards,

Dear Jason,

Thank you for the response and clarification.