Blade-Element/Momentum Theory and Implementation

This topic is dedicated to the discussion of BEM theory and implementation.

Hi my Name is Andreas
and I am pretty new in the wind turbines community. I am currently writing my Bachelor thesis on the topic of twist/bend coupling.

To get a deeper insight what is going on with the BEMT I try to make a simple model of the 5MW Offshore Baseline Turbine with basic BEMT including tip loss, Glauert correction . I am trying to understand the theory better because I want to use programms like Aerodyn or WT_perf for my later work. I now have some question I can not resolve on my own and I can´t find anything in the literature or papers about it.

1.Question:
First I tried to implement a rectangular plate in the BEMT there is my first problem. When I try to go to r-> 0 my algorithm breaks down. R=0 is impossible due to a singularity in the Math I know. But when I go close to zero (what should be possible?) my tangential induction factor begins to get strange values and in the next convergence step the Prandtl tip loss function gets complex numbers. I know that the tangential induction factor has a singularity where it jumps from plus to minus infinity due to its structure which resembles 1/(x-1). Are there ways to go very far to the root r->0 and avoid these problems?

2.Question:
I saw in the WT_perf that there is wind shear included. How is this possible for the BEMT. When I include wind shear every wing sees the same wind speed distribution.I can not simulate a wind turbine where every wing sees a different distribution. Do you use a UNSTEADY BEMT in the WT_perf code or how do you include wind shear?

3.Question:
When I implement the wing you used in the NREL offshore 5MW baseline wind turbine I get convergence problems. The algorithm converges but the tolerance is to high about 2%.